Call Us! 07887 617558

Mental Health

Below is a list of different organisations with a special interest in emotional & mental health and well-being, and sources of information on a variety of therapies available in the UK.

Online CBT (Cognitive Behavioural Therapy)

CBT helps to explore the links between our thoughts, feelings and behaviour, and to develop positive coping strategies. CBT is recommended by the National Institute for Clinical Excellence (NICE), but there is a major shortage of therapists, and long waiting lists on the NHS, so many people seeking help do not get access to CBT when they need it most (and when it could be most effective).
Online CBT programmes have been developed recently and have shown to be promising in helping people to help themselves with the aid of modern technology.  You can access the following programmes that are based on the principles of CBT, free of charge:

Living Life to The Full www.livinglifetothefull.com

Mood Gym http://moodgym.anu.edu.au

Feel Better www.kpchr.org/feelbetter

Depression

Depression Alliance www.depressionalliance.org Tel: 0845 123 2320

Aware www.aware-ni.org - Advice and information for people experiencing or at risk of experiencing depression. 10 Clarendon Street, Derry, BT48 7ET, Tel: 028 7126 0602.

Beyond Blue www.beyondblue.org.au - The national Australian depression initiative.

Clinical Depression www.depression-screening.com - Information and news on clinical depression.

Defeat Depression www.depression.org.uk, News, chat room and information

Depression and Bi-polar Support Alliance www.dbsalliance.org USA-based patien-directed organisation

Depression Anonymous www.depressionanon.co.uk  A self-help organisation producing a monthly magazine, book reviews, bulletin board and pen-friend scheme.

Depression Helper www.depression-helper.com  Depression help and advice.

Depression World  www.depressionworld.net  Website maintained by a chartered psychologist and UKCP psychotherapist.

Phobias, Anxiety & OCD

Agoraphobics United www.agoraphobics.co.uk

Anxiety Alliance www.anxietyalliance.org.uk

Anxiety UK www.anxietyuk.org.uk

Britain & Districts Agoraphobic Society www.badas.ik.com

Dental Fear Central www.dentalfearcentral.org

Emetophobia Online www.emetonline.co.uk

Gut Reaction www.gut-reaction.freeserve.co.uk Emetophobia support

The Health Anxiety Centre www.aimoo.com/forum/freeboard.cfm?id=320897

No More Panic www.nomorepanic.co.uk

Panic Attacks www.panicattacks.com.au

Social Anxiety Online www.socialanxietyonline.co.uk

Social Phobia / Social Anxiety Association www.socialphobia.org

Social Phobia World www.socialphobiaworld.com

Relationships

Relate www.relate.org.uk

Domestic Violence Helplines & Support

Women's Aid www.womensaid.org.uk Domestic Violence Helpline 0808 2000 247

Paws for Kids www.pawsforkids.org.uk

NSPCC www.nspcc.org.uk Child Protection Helpline 0800 800 500; Childline 0800 1111

Action on Elder Abuse www.elderabuse.org.uk Tel: 0808 808 8141

Mankind www.mankind.org.uk Support for men experiencing domestic violence

Broken Rainbow www.broken-rainbow.org.uk Support for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people experiencing domestic violence

Victim Support www.victimsupport.org.uk

Mental Health

Mental Health Foundation www.mentalhealth.org.uk

Mind www.mind.org.uk

Sane www.sane.org.uk

Samaritans www.samaritans.org Tel: 08457 90 90 90

Bereavement & Loss

Compassionate Friends www.tcf.org.uk

SANDS (Still Birth & Neonatal Death Society) www.uk-sands.org

SOBS (Survivors of Bereavement by Suicide) www.uk-sobs.org.uk

Cruse www.crusebereavementcare.org.uk